Improve the file context menu

Aug 5, 2011 at 5:41 PM

Hi,

I'm quite new to Git and I'm trying out all sorts of things and tools around Git now. One of them is this source control provider for VS2010 which I think is a nevessary piece of the Git environment to make it useable with Visual Studio at all (without throwing away much of the productivity VS gives you). I've been using AnkhSVN a lot already. And that's where my two subject points come from now:

• Add some of the more common commands directly in the top-level of the context menu. Right now, when you right-click a file, all you see of Git is the submenu. You have to click that one to get a long list of options. AnkhSVN already adds the most common like Update, Commit or maybe Show Log right to the list of options you get to see when you click the file. That makes it much faster to use. The complete set of commands is still available in the submenu.
  • Display meaningful icons with the operations in the context menu. Right now, there's basically just a list of command names, grouped by the type of backend to be used. All commands have the same icon of the backend. I guess, you don't usually install/use more than a single backend, say TortoiseGit or Git Extensions. Both do the same, so why install both at a time? So all you end up with is a list of commands, all having the same icon. They would be much easier to find if they had meaningful icons besides them.

Do you think this can be included in a future release of this tool? I could take a look at it myself (though VS extensions coding is new to me), but I thought I'd just ask here first. :-)

Aug 5, 2011 at 7:11 PM